By: ArtemisDSII

Smack a sensei, damnit

Chapter Summary: The sports festival is coming up and Mamura is nominated t take part in the relay. Suzume decides to help out with making pom poms and such, leaving Mamura to head on home himself. OF COURSE, she bumps into Sensei who is supervising her activities with other students. He keeps their interaction lighthearted until she is left alone in the room. Suzume essentially says she is over him as she turns to leave but overcome by jealousy he grabs and hugs her.

Review! ARE YOU FREAKING KIDDING ME??? DID I OR DID I NOT CALL SENSEI OUT LAST REVIEW? *checks previous post* I DID

The chapter starts off with Suzume reaffirming her resolve to be a better person/girlfriend for Mamura. Following the previous chapter, she learns more about him and his athletic side (wait does this mean he might have an effortless six-pack? ehh, probably not). I like that she actually is slowly learning more about him and it isn’t rushed at all. But I wonder why no one seems to tell her any of these things in casual conversation, just what do her friends normally talk about?

I like that Mamura gives her space and is pretty cool about everything even though he still wants to spend time with her. And I find it really hilarious and enraging that he is so much more mature then Sensei. I mean, he remembered Mamura and Suzume walking home together and just couldn’t control himself?

hnk 65-3 OMFRIGGIN GOD
pssshhhhhhhh

I did like how Suzume recognizes that Sensei is messing with her and calls him out on it. I think it’s great character development. She’s actually trying to move on and develop a healthy relationship.

hnk 65-2 i applaud you for calling out bs when you saw itFrom this chapter it’s quite clear that Sensei is unstable and can’t develop a healthy relationship with her (or with anyone unless he grows more as a person). He’s jealous that he lost her to someone else. It’s important to remember that he’s a good 8 years older, she is under aged, she is his best friend’s niece, etc. I personally would like to see him develop but at this point. I’m convinced that their relationship can’t grow past friendship or as a guide for Suzume.

I mean, he doesn’t tell her it’s time to leave obviously because he wants to be left alone with her. He gets jealous of her because she is with another person and even though he is essentially the one that decided nothing could happen between them he changes his mind instantly. It was clear in earlier chapters that he did like her but he held back (oh but he just couldn’t control himself and he led her on, how tragic) because he recognizes and is aware of all the complications but as soon as she decides to move on he’s like ‘oh let me hug you’. Pssshhhhhh. Give me a break.

hnk 65-1ugggh
OH I didn’t see you there :O I was just walking with my head up and looking straight ahead. A complete accident Chun chun

All he’s going to do is confuse her and she’ll become more self conscious about having feelings toward him and Mamura has actually helped her move past this relationship. It’s sad to see his sincere efforts being flushed down the toilet because of a 24 year old adolescent that’s got a thing for little girls.

As long as the next chapter doesn’t have her falling for him again, I look forward to it. I want to actually see Sensei move on from pedophile to at least a period of calm before he gets into a serious relationship. You know what, I wouldn’t be surprised if he dated an older woman, someone needs to baby him.

If I haven’t made myself clear: IT WOULD BE REALLY UNREASONABLE IF SENSEI ENDED UP WITH SUZUME I.E. IT WILL NOT HAPPEN (it better not)

_____

If you’re wondering why my posts generally come up a few days after the manga is posted: it’s because I read it on batato. I also tend to be lazy and post late *cough* Magi *cough*